January 2017 | International Pierre de Coubertin Committee celebrated General Assembly

The International Pierre de Coubertin Committee celebrated its General Assembly meeting on 20th January 2018 in Lausanne. The main points on the agenda were: election of a new president, election of new members of the Board and recognition of new national Pierre de Coubertin Committees and high-schools.

Prof. Dr. Norbert Müller from Mainz, Germany, stepped down as President of this committee. Prof. Dr. Stephan Wassong, Cologne, Germany, was unanimously elected as the new President of the International Pierre de Coubertin Committee.

New national Pierre de Coubertin Committees were recognized in Gambia, India, Republic of South Africa and Uruguay.

New school in Ukraine was added to the list of International Coubertin Network of high-schools. This high-school will adopt the name of Pierre de Coubertin.

CIPC Board elected for the period 2018-2021:

President: Stephan Wassong (GER)

Vice Presidents:

Jean Durry (FRA)
Junko Tahara (JPN)

Members of the Board:

Helen Brownlee (AUS)
Kostas Georgiadis (GRE)
Ines Nikolaus (GER), Delegate for the international network of Coubertin Schools
Reele Remmelkoor (EST)
Halina Zdebska (POL)

Corresponding members:

Maixent Loubassou (CGO) (for Sub-Saharan Africa)
George Hirthler (USA) (for North America)
Nelson Schneider Todt (BRA) (for South America)
Alexandre Mestre (POR) (for Portuguese speaking countries except Brazil)

Ex-officio, ex qualité: Bernard Ponceblanc (FRA) CDOS de Saône et Loire

Secretary General: Elvira Ramini (SUI)
Treasurer: Jean-Christophe Guédon (SUI)

Webmaster: Semir Kamhawi (GER)

December 2017 | Pierre de Coubertin prize awarded to Rosanna La Spesa in Mainz, Germany

Rosanna La Spesa, a teacher at the Liceo Statale ‘Giuliano della Rovere’, has been honoured with the Pierre de Coubertin Prize on Friday 01 December 2017 by the International Pierre de Coubertin Committee. The Executive Board of this Committee decided to grant this award to Rosanna La Spesa for her extraordinary involvement in the project of Olympic Education Values applied in the network of Coubertin high-schools world-wide. She has been developing this educational project in her school in Savona. Additionally, she made exceptional contributions by directing artistic projects in painting at the International Coubertin Youth Forums for 14 years working with students from 24 participating Coubertin high-schools from all continents. The strength of her motivation and generosity of spirit that was transmitted to young students is exemplary. Therefore, this prize has been granted based on La Spesa’s overall work as a teacher and artist and most exceptionally, for her personality and generosity of spirit.     

Rosanna La Spesa is from Savona, but she is Sicilian-Venetian origin, uniting the South and the North of Italy. Rosanna began researching art in 1974 and exhibiting in 1977. Her poetic work is inspired by the element of water, the language of stones and Earth’s fossil memories. Her versatility and her constant pursuit of new artistic expressions has led her to investigate different materials and techniques, including vitrofusion, terracotta, metals, glass and gold jewellery, artistic windows for architecture, producing work on textile, and work with a religious theme. During her career, her work has received significant approval and recognition at national and international art competitions, and her meticulous study of glass work using the vitrofusion technique has led to the publication of articles in prestigious magazines in the field. The eminent art critic Riccardo Zelatore describes the artist as follows: “A multiplicity of linguistic codes that oppose and complete one another, a wealth of formal variations and perceptiveness of arrangements characterise Rosanna’s work.” Vitrofusion and ceramics form the cornerstones of her work; indeed, although they have very diverse aesthetic characteristics, they have similar physical properties and chemical components, allowing for their combination within a single work of art, thus creating extremely refined compositions. Together with an in-depth knowledge and technical command, Rosanna illustrates a personal, formal language, which is individual and authentic, free as the artist feels and wishes to be.” Her exhibitions comprise refined artistic projects. Most importantly, we wish to congratulate her on the exhibition in Miramar, Argentina, April 2015, in which she participated with a piece entitled ‘Samia’s journey in a wingbeat’. A work of art, a metaphor:
Samia (in nature, this is the name of a butterfly), an athlete from Somalia who took part in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing when she was 17 years old. Three years later, her dream of travelling to Europe to take part in the Olympic Games in London was destroyed in the Mediterranean sea when she attempted to cross it.

Rosanna’s work presented here comprises a montage of paper butterflies characterised by the blue and golden droplets that evoke the sea and the sacred dimension of life in the attempt to find freedom. Samia Yusuf Omar was transformed into the meaning of her name and a powerful symbol for the world of female migrants: a wingbeat towards freedom.

December 2017 | CIPC honored Professor Manfred Messing with the 'Prix de la Culture' in Mainz, Germany

The International Pierre de Coubertin Committee honored Professor Manfred Messing with his Prix de la Culture as an outstanding international researcher in the field of Coubertin's symbiosis of "sport and culture" as the basic Olympic value. Manfred Messing is awarded a prestigious German sports sociologist who has influenced Olympic research both nationally and internationally since his appointment in 1982 to Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. Coubertin's pedagogical and sports ethic writings, many hundreds of pages, played an essential role in his inspiration and interpretation. The University of Mainz had become the center of international Coubertin research since the 1980s, when Coubertin published the Olympic-oriented work in six languages (French, English, Chinese, Spanish, Portuguese and Arabic). Founded in 1986 at the Mainz Sports Department, the "Olympia Research Group" was largely supported by the scientific achievements of Manfred Messing. As a co-publisher of the book series "Olympic Studies" since 1988, which comprises 16 volumes to date, the honoree has decisively contributed to the dissemination of the
Research results, especially from Mainz graduates inspired by the Olympic research, contributed to this.

December 2017 | Teachers-in-service training on Olympic education in Mainz, Germany

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the International Network of Coubertin Schools, the CIPC
organised a teachers-in-service training on Olympic education for european Coubertin School teachers in
Mainz (Germany) from December 1st- 3rd 2017. The aim of this workshop was to introduce the new IOC programme “Olympic Values Education Programme” (OVEP 2.0) to the participants, qualify them to work as a disseminator for Olympic education in his/her region or country and to share best-practice exercises and activities.

2017 | Youth Forum-Impressions Ülenurme, Estonia

The 11th Pierre de Coubertin Youth Forum was held in Ülenurme, Estonia. Here you can find the report (printversion) and the video.